What's the best lighting for desserts?

a1rv1n

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi! I'm new to photography and I would like everyone's recommendation on what lighting I should get. I have a Canon Rebel T2i with an EFS 55-250 mm lens and an EFS 18-55 mm lens. What I will be taking photographs of are desserts like cakes, cupcakes, cake pops, cookies, and other desserts. I've been searching for what the best lighting is for what I will be taking pictures of and it seems like getting a pair of soft boxes is a great option with a white backdrop. One thing I'm mainly concerned about is if the heat from the light source will be too hot that it'll melt away the cake and other details such as fondant. I would greatly appreciate it if I can get someone's opinion on what I should get. Thanks for your time and I can't wait to see your response.

Look for strobes that have a "proportional" modeling light that can be turned down for cake icing. Avoid continuous lighting.

I searched the forums for "lighting, food" and got 20 pages of threads you can read.

I did not refine my search any further, but you can search based on what interests you.

Search Results for Query: lighting, food | Photography Forum

Look for strobes that have a "proportional" modeling light that can be turned down for cake icing. Avoid continuous lighting.

I searched the forums for "lighting, food" and got 20 pages of threads you can read.

I did not refine my search any further, but you can search based on what interests you.

Search Results for Query: lighting, food | Photography Forum