When are borders and Title/Name/Location appropriate in prints?

gatorcruz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

I am just beginning to sell my photographs as an artist. I like the idea of having a large white border and my name + Title of the photograph displayed at the bottom section of the border (as I have seen with many fine art photographs). I like this primarily because it does allow for name recognition ... It's free advertising, so to speak.

Of course, on the negative side, to the buyer, it does reduce the size of the image (by adding the border & shrinking the image) or the cost goes up a bit more because I am printing on a larger paper to fit an image with the surrounding thick border. The owner of the print could always chose to mount OVER the border, but maybe they will think they "lost out" in not getting the image edge-to-edge.

Anyway, when is this a good idea? Should I just offer customers TWO versions (one edge-to-edge and the other WITH the border and photo information? OR is edge-to-edge never a good idea -- at least a thin border should always be used even if it has no information?

If you think the border is a good idea then how much information should I include? (Please let me know which elements should or should not be included and why): (A) My name, (B) The Title, (C) The Location of the shoot as in City State or the name of the subject if it is iconic (i.e. Empire State Building), (D) My website (I actually think this is a bad idea ... I don;t want to make this into an obvious billboard!)

Thank you for your help.

Last edited:
That is a lot to write. For me, I do not sell my photos because I am not quite at that stage yet but if I were, I would probably:
1. Not put a border
2. Have my name or company name in the lower left or right corner of the photo
3. Not make it so large and distracting
4. Have it only says ©my name and possibly the year