Which system? Returning

Blake.Oney

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys! I used to be on here pretty much all the time. I was a hobby photographer that was transitioning into portraiture and weddings. At the time I shot nikon crop sensor. A few different life things led me down a different path, but I’m here 9 years later wondering what I should do.

My fiancé got me an early Christmas gift. She wasn’t sure if I’d get back into photography so she didn’t go huge but she bought me a lumix g7. I picked up the 25 1.8 and took off. I feel like I understand the principals of photography more now than when I was shooting every day. It’s odd. Anyway, as I’ve kind of worked my way back into people shooting, I’m left wondering this;

if my aim is to photograph people, would it be better to transition to full frame now, buying something like an eos rp, or a d750, with an 85 1.8?
Or would it be better spent getting high end glass on my micro 4/3 system. Like the Panasonic 42.5 1.2, or the oly equivalent. Maybe even the Panasonic pro zooms in 12-35 and 35-100? There’s also the oly 75 1.8. Lots of good glass it seems. But I’m not sure if it suits my purpose. Particularly low light and iso capabilities.

So photo forum, I return, asking not what should I do, but what would you do?

Edit: I’m looking spend around 1-1200. Which is why the two full frame options are as they are. I’ve watched all the videos. Now I’m curious about other people’s experiences.

Edit 2: I’m not only looking at canon and Nikon by the way. Sony a7ii is an option, I don’t know much about Fuji. I know the rp is the newest of the cameras I’m looking at but I’m not sure it performs the best. Dual pixel does look sweet though

Last edited:
I shoot both Nikon DX and m4/3.
Here are a few things to think about
  • DoF
    • Shallow DoF is easier with a larger format. A 85/1.8 at f/2 would give you a shallower DoF than a 45/1.8 at f/2.