Which TC for a Nikon 70-200 vr1 ?

nce

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I just purchased a Nikon 70-200 mm f2.8 vr1 and wanted to get a teleconverter in the near future too. It will be used mostly for shooting outdoor sports and birding. Is there a noticable difference in image quality between the 3 Nikon TC's. I have no experience at all with TC's so any feedback is appreciated.

I use the latest version 1.7x on mine. On a crop-body it's great, on a full-frame, it can be a little soft around the edges. The new 2x is supposed to be pretty darn good, but I didn't want to lose two full stops.

I ended up buying it on ebay. Supposedly it is in as new condition and is one of the newer vr1's. It was from a seller with perfect feedback and it did look new in the pictures, we'll see when it gets here in a few days.

I use the latest version 1.7x on mine. On a crop-body it's great, on a full-frame, it can be a little soft around the edges. The new 2x is supposed to be pretty darn good, but I didn't want to lose two full stops.

I have a D300s so I should hopefully be fine.

Is af supported with the kenko?

I've used a 1.4 with great results, a 1.7 is acceptable in proper conditions, and don't bother with a 2.0.....

The TC-14e or TC-14e-II both work pretty well on the 70-200 VR version 1 lens. I heave heard the 1.7x model works acceptably also. I had a TC20e, and I didn't like it on ANY lens...so I got rid of it.

Now, I understand that the NEWEST 2x converter from Nikon, the Mark III, Aspherical element version, is **significantly** better on the new Nikkor lenses,both on the prime telephotos with AF-S focusing, as well as on the AF-S zooms for which it was designed to be compatible with. I've seen some tests of the new Aspherical converter on the NEW VR-II 70-200 lens, and it performs surprisingly well for a converter, as well as on the new 200 VR and 300 2.8 VR lenses.