Wtd: Digital SLR camera, not expensive!

Fatmike

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys, i'm fairly new to photography, i've been using basic digital cameras, and 35mm slr's for a while, and have decided to make the move to a digital SLR type camera.

Basically, i'm looking for something that does the job. Works, fully functional, am not too fussy at all. :)

As long as it's fairly cheap, i'm open to anything.

I'm in the Uk, but shipping shouldn't be too much, i import alot into the uk anyway.

Regards, Mike.

Your options are:

Buy a new, lower end consumer DSLR, like Canon 300D, 350D (which is coming out soon), Nikon D70, Pentax istD, etc....

or....

Buy a used model one up from those with slightly more features, betterbuild, like a Canon 10D, or Nikon D100.

Buy a used 300D, especially after the 350D comes out.

Buy a nice, more pro camera and spend more around $1500 USD, like Canon 20D.

Compare features and price of all of these at www.dpreview.com

If you have used 35mm film SLRs, then the question is what brand, and do you have lenses? Buying from the same company will probably mean that your lenses are compatible, which is always good.

I've got some cannon lenses now, but really am looking for something that's inexpensive!

Regards, Mike.

fatmike, whats your budget? there really isnt anything inexpensive about DSLR's.

md

MDowdey said:
fatmike, whats your budget? there really isnt anything inexpensive about DSLR's.
md

The Canon 300D is about £530 in the Uk, (About $1150 us), which is more than double that i'm willing to spend.

Ideally, about $500, ~£250 is my max. If anyone's got anything within that kind of price area, it'd be fantastic, like i said, i'm not incredibly fussy. :)

Also, what's the difference/advantages/disadvantages with the dSLR and the "standard" SLR?

Thanks, Mike.