Yet more wedding questions . . .

GMan_nz

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi folks, apologies in advance for the lengthy post:confused:

I have been asked to photograph the main event for friends too - seems like there's a bit of that going around. There's a few books and places online to go for tips etc but I was hoping I could get some constructive advice for my particular case.

The couple have seen a few photos I've taken and were impressed - but then it's easy to impress people who don't understand how shallow DOF makes such a difference between dSLR photos and 'flat' P&S photos. At any rate, I'm confident & happy enough to 'have a go' and they understand I'm no professional -but I'd like to do my very best so they at least get a handful or two of images thay can enjoy.

The wedding is not until September so I have a while to get things sorted. I will be shooting with my D50. I currently have the kit Nikkor 18-55mm, Nikkor 70-300mm, and the 50mm 1.8 prime. I only have the built in flash at present. I have a 2Gb and a 512MB SD card.

The couple are working to a tight budget and she's already been through the whole 'big wedding' thing once before - so it's going to be a relatively low-key event and there will only be 40 or so people attending (they're thinking about not even having a cake to cut!!). A restaurant will serve as both the wedding and reception venue, with tables shifted (I think) accordingly for the two parts of the evening.

I understand the venue is quite dim, and it will be a 5pm service so any natural light throught the small front windows will be of no use whatsoever. I am going to check out the venue next week to get a feel for how dark it will really be, if there are mirrors that will upset flash, if there are lighter areas to bounce flash off, etc.

Now, for my questions: