Yikes!!

Lisablueeyes

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I'm a newbie to the DSLR world... Hubby gave me an early xmas gift, Canon T3I!! I have been reading and searching the websites... And now even dreaming of it in my sleep! Oh boy... I had a dream last night on "depth of field" I was trying to understand it, blah blah.... So if someone would like to share some tips and tricks on this that would be fantastic!!:hail:

Thanks

Last edited:
Try playing around with some DOF software or an app.

Shallower depth of field is created by using:

1) lower focal ratios (lower f-stop values)
2) longer focal lengths (long telephoto lenses which have a "compression" effect)
3) placing the subject closer

If you reverse these (higher f-stops, use wide lenses, or place the subject farther away then the depth of field is increased.)

Line up some object... a series of bottles or cans, or find a picket fence, etc. and place the bottles or cans about a foot apart each (or even 2 feet apart if you want to make them stretch farther). Go stand at one end of the row, focus on the middle object, and take a few shots. Shoot a few with the lowest focal ratio your lens offers (e.g. if you have a 50mm f/1.8 lens then use f/1.8, then take a few shots at increasingly higher f-stops. As you compare the shots you'll see that the in the original shot probably only the bottle you focused on will be sharp... the rest will be soft. Each time you increase the f-stop you'll notice that more of the bottles and cans are focused.

f-stop is the most common way to control depth of field, but you'll find that changing the focal length also has a similar effect.

Shallower depth of field is created by using:

1) lower focal ratios (lower f-stop values)
2) longer focal lengths (long telephoto lenses which have a "compression" effect)
3) placing the subject closer