Your oppinions on body vs. lenses

claty111

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
From what i hear it is better to get a regular body and awesome lens then a really good body. I am very new to photography and want to get a good DSLR to "dip my toes" so to speak. I have used canon before and want to stay with them. What is a good body (300 to 500$) that would fit my beginer needs? Also please post any opinions or personal ideas. Thanks :thumbup:

I would have to say that lens is more important, however I also believe the body is important to improving ease and quality of images.

The Nikon D60 is $695 found here:
http://www.nikonusa.com/Find-Your-Nikon/Product/Digital-SLR/25438/D60.html

However it's above your range. You could look for a D40 or D40x if you can find it. It's a bit cheaper. However, if you really wanted to dip your feet in further and were to ever go into FX (full frame sensor) then it wouldn't matter what lenses you bought now, because DX lenses for the D40 and D60 will crop your images in a Full Frame camera. There for, I wouldn't worry too much about buying an expensive lens till you get the hang of using an SLR.

If you are just trying it out, then any of the lower end DSLR for Nikon, and even Canon will work fine.

I believe whole heartedly Lenses over body, I use a thirty year old body with good glass and get some great shots.

I get bad shots too but that is my fault not the cameras :lmao:

Thanks! any more opinions?

Don't know much about Canon, but with Nikon you can get a used D70 (an older camera, a level higher than the D40/40x/60 (beginner class), so-called prosumer class) for about USD300-USD350. You can then get a good lens (depending on type) from USD100-USD350. I'm quite sure than with Canon there are similar options.
Although I'm quite the beginner too, I also believe in Lens over Body, especially for beginners (we don't need all those fancy options... yet;)).