Your thoughts, please. (Fire spinner event)

theeph

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I recently went to a friends local event/party and took a few pictures. I wasn't there to take picture so all I had with me was my T3i and a 50mm 1.8 lens. I like the way they came out, but with limited, uncontrolled light it was hard for me to get real clean shots. I would love your opinions and critiques on the following.

Note: I am still very new to Lightroom so the pictures have been barely touched. Most just a raise in clarity.
Note: The pictures that usually come from these types of shots are usually done with a slower shutter speed, to catch the design of the spinners, I intentionally tried to avoid this and instead capture the flames and artists in more of a pose while still showing movement.

Photo #1: 1/50, 2.8, 800. Joe was incredibly elegant when he spinned, I think this shot really captured that. I really like that the background is really dull and I think this makes the subject pop out a little more. I wish his right arm wasn't as blurry, but I like that the flames are clearly in motion. There was no selective coloring done, but the vibrance was dropped down completely.
$IMG_3706.jpg

Photo #2: 1/50, 1.8, 1600. Most of Jimmy's shots were really intense. He has this fire warrior quality when he spins. He looks as if he is about to strike and I really dig that. The graffiti stands out but I think he mixes with it well. I'm afraid it might cause a little bit of a distraction, but I'm not sure if it's much of a problem. I wish the right side of his face wasn't quite so bright and his arms almost seem awkward. I really like the eye contact.
$IMG_4360.jpg