Z9 User - My 3 Month Thoughts

regionphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.regionphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been shooting the Z9 now for 3 months and thought I'd give a brief overview of using it in the real world.

1. Never thought I'd want or use a 45MP camera, but the HE* setting give me file sizes of a 24MP camera with no loss of quality.
2. Upside of 45MP is I occasionally enjoy cropping in (got stuck in the back of Notre Dame shooting an event so this was helpful to "get close" when a 70-200 fell short).
3. The downside of 45MP is there is noticeably more noise at ISO 8000 and above.
4. All of the AF claims are true for this camera. I photograph people for portraits and events so not the biggest challenge but the eye AF does come in handy at times and is accurate.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask. I'm new here but will tray to check back.

I've attached a few images. The wedding one is at VERY HIGH ISO and the grain is very film like but still not as clean as the former Nikon flagships like D5, etc.

Attachments

• lu-hi-rise0004.jpg
    lu-hi-rise0004.jpg
    316.4 KB · Views: 39
  • MD-notre-dame-wedding0167.jpg
    MD-notre-dame-wedding0167.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 36
  • library-loft0005.jpg
    library-loft0005.jpg
    654 KB · Views: 37