1st photography job - guidance, experience and tips?

nola.ron

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm an amateur that enjoys my work as a hobby. My career pays the bills and capturing moments and being creative with my camera makes me smile. I recently saw an open position with a well known company that has been in business for quite a number of years doing school and organized sports photography. They have amazing training available for all contractors and staff and it looks to be an amazing opportunity to learn and grow as a photographer. I will never have any intention on replacing my career with a new one in photography. My career is my 1st passion... photography is my 2nd. However, I would love to have work after hours and during the weekends for a long time because it's just something I enjoy, so why not get to do it more and make some money on the side?

So, upon discovering the position I went ahead and applied. I included my resume (which is completely irrelevant to this industry), a link to my flickr page and current gear list. The hiring manager called me today and told me that she loves my work (Woa?) and wants me to come in for an interview. She also extended an offer for me to come see them in action at one of the local sports fields before the interview in order to make sure it's something I want to do. This position will either be still and/or action photography and not school shoots (to my best understanding). I'm floored to have received the compliments from her, because I honestly never expected to hear back on it since it is simply a hobby for me and one that I never really thought I was "good" at... at least not as good as I want to be.