about to buy Nikon D800e. need some opinions.

AndrewofAdelaide

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
i'm an artist and have been photographing for over 20+ years. i've started transitioning to digital but the learning curve is still huge. my work is project-based, so i use equipment that suites each project.
-
i'm about to buy the Nikon D800e, vertical grip, Nikkor 24-70 f2.8 lens, extra battery, SB910 flash, sync cord and two, SanDisc ExtremePro cards. plus a Black and White clear filter.
-
i hv the funds (i got a great price) but i'm just wondering if i should wait. it's a lot of money and i'm now getting cold feet and questioning my decision.
i decided on this over the Canon 5D Mark III because of the higher megapixel and uncompressed video PLUS i already have a Nikon F5 and a Nikkor 80-200 f2.8 lens in mint condition.
-
it's not that i NEED this system right now.
i know that there were some left AF issues (but i've read that Nikon has fixed it-- but didn't address or recall it).
-
also, i've read that it will be 3 years until the next update.
should i wait for something?

The D800e is probably the best imager in it's class for the price. If you're in a position to get it, and you actually need/want that much resolution, GO FOR IT!

Well, the sync cord isn't 100% necessary as the D800E can trigger the SB-910 remotely using CLS, but sometimes it's nice to have the peace of mind associated with a physical cord.

I can't think of any reason for you to be disappointed in the purchase but it is an awful lot of money to be spending regardless of whether you're getting a great deal on it or not. I'd be getting cold feet as well.

The D800e is probably the best imager in it's class for the price. If you're in a position to get it, and you actually need/want that much resolution, GO FOR IT!
I agree

If going for it. Don't forget about the back-end the computer end. As 36mp file sizes will require more ram and processor power.