B&W From Raw ?

Pirate

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have recently begun to enjoy CS3's bridge and working with raw. I have done some b&w pp of some landscapes that I think turn out rather nicely but am having some trouble with highlighting some dark and light colored areas. For example I did alot of shots of Yosemite this spring and have done a few mountain shots in b&w, but am having trouble getting the whites that I want out of the waterfalls, without making everything in the photo too light. I am fairly new at photoshop but really enjoy shooting in raw. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Do you shoot in raw ? What % that you shoot are in raw format ? Thanks for your help.

I shoot 98% in RAW. Once I started using good RAW software and figured out a workflow, I found processing the RAW images much easier.

When I convert an image to B&W, I process it in color and get it into Photoshop. Once there, there are several methods for converting to B&W, most of them are much better than just turning the saturation down to zero.

I normally do the conversion in Bridge as I feel that the desat loses so much sharpness. Is dodging and burning any help here ?

Dodging and burning can usually help but it depends on what you want to do and what you have to work with.

For my B&W conversion, I have an action that works great. Plus I'll tweak the levels and use curves, to really give it some snappy contrast.

RAW and B&W. I used to desaturate and play, but the best way I found for best results... was using Levels (and curves, like Mike does). There is a lot less loss of detail. I am a 100% RAW shooter with CS3, if that helps, and that's how I do it.