Baptism Advice?

beshe81

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I will be photographing my first baptism this weekend, for an old high school friend.

Here is the church:
http://www.sjwest.org/parish/tour.htm

Flash photography is allowed but I'm not sure if I will need it, the place looks well lit and I may go more for the natural lighting. I won't know where I am allowed to stand until a little before the ceremony begins. I was thinking I would need my 35mm f/1.8 and maybe my 55-200mm f/4-5.6 for some close up shots. I am hoping I can stand on the ramp behind the baptismal font which is to the left in this picture:
http://www.sjwest.org/parish/Pictures/ChurchInt2.jpg

That should give me a good range for the 35mm lens, right?

Any advise or tips? Trying to build my portfolio and she knows I am a budding photographer, but I want to make her proud! Haha, thanks in advance!

35 mm would put you intrusively close to the proceedings.

I used at least 50 mm to shoot a baptism ceremony.

After the ceremony is different, however, Nikon's AF-S 35 mm f/1.8G is to soft and has a bit to much CA at wide apertures, plud to much distortion to be the lens I would use. I had the lens but sold it because it had to many technical optical issues for my purposes.

Last edited:
First of all, I can guarentee that you will need your flash. The church may look well lit to your eye, but not to the camera, and if you're using a rather slow lens like the 55-200, it will be all that much more important.

Treat this just like any other job, and do everything you would do if you were being paid top dollar. Scout the location ahead of time. Talk to the Deacon/Rector/?? and find out what the church's rules are. They may allow photography at some times and not others, restrict where you can stand, etc. You need to know this ahead of time so that if there are problems you can discuss them with the clients.