Baseball Photos

howelj

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am new to photography other than point and shoot so bear with me. My son is a baseball player and I want to take some pictures during the next few years before he gets out of high school of him playing baseball. My neighbor whose son also plays has a Canon XT DLSR and has taken some fairly nice shots of both of the boys, but he is a novice like me.

I have been looking at the new XTi 10MP Canon and was wondering if the shutter speed would be capable of stopping a baseball in its tracks during a photo. If so, which lens would you recommend to accompany this camera. I understand that a f2.8 would probably be best if I am gong to take any pictures under the lights, but I don't think I can afford that. I guess I need something that will focus fairly quickly. Would the IS lens be what I need and would a 70-200mm lens be enough?

Would you recommend another lens beside a Canon? As you can see for someone that is new to this, I am dealing with information overload. I have always wanted to get into photography more and really enjoy taking some sunset photos with my P&S. I am willing to put the time into this to learn it correctly, but want to make a purchase I can live with for about 5-10 years.

A Canon Rebel XT is more than capable of stopping the baseball given the right lens - just as capable as the XTi.

If you're going to be under the lights, you'll want as wide an aperture as you can get - 2.8 still may not be quite fast enough without bumping up the ISO considerably.

As for the focal length, if you can get next to the fence, 200mm will be plenty. If you're wanting to reach into the outfield with it, you may find it a little short, but not by a whole lot.

IS is nice, but if you're looking to stop the baseball, it would hardly come into play because your shutter is going to be really fast.