Begginer - Need some help !

mitko007

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,
im quite new in world of digital photography so may be for most of you my questions would sound stupid... I read some tutorials but there are still some issues i dont really understand. One of these are the A,S,P modes on my camera (SOny DSC H50). As i set i to A mode i can adjust the Aperture manually and the camera sets up a Shutter speed automatically. How does this effect the EV as it always stays at 0? Or should i always adjust the EV maunally???! And why do i get always so slow Shutter speeds...like 2-3 sec. even at daylight and clear weather conditions. I see in internet that for the same conditions people get faster shutter speeds....
The same question i valid for the S mode. The one i really dont get is the P mode...what is it ment for? I read in the manuall that it sets a Aperture and Shutter Speed automatically where i set the EV manually ??!
Another thing is this metering option...how is it exactly used.
This EV is the one thats getting me confused so i would really appeciate some help.
Thanks !!!

Welcome to the Forum; let's see if we can't answer your questions. Let's start with 'EV'. 'EV' stands for Exposure Value, which, simply put is the amount of light which is hitting the sensor at the time of exposure. There is no 'EV' adjustment per se, the adjustment is occurs as you change your aperture and/or shutter speed. Ideally, yes, you want to keep your EV at '0' (assuming that's the centre-point on your camera's light-metre scale) for most situations.

EV is most often referred to now as it relates to exposure compensation or bracketing. That is, the deliberate increasing or decreasing the amount of light to hit the sensor from that which the light-metre recommends. This is done usually to compensate for overly bright or overly dark elements in an image.