Beginner with OOLD equipment

mondo2891

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys! So i'm really new to the photography world and have been wanting to get into it for a while. This weekend I came across my mom's 25 year old Minolta X-370 and my brother's old (but still looking new) Minolta X-570. Sadly my brothers seems to be broken (the mirror does not move like it should) so i've been playing around with the 370 getting used to it. After talking to a friend he said I should look for a forum and see what suggestions you guys may have for me regarding settings for the camera and such. So I also figured that i would take some pictures of what I have so you may get a better idea of what I'm dealing with. My first question is what film should I get? I'm highly interested in b&w, I find it to be the best looking pictures, but since i'm a beginner I figure I'll do what you all say! I'll look around these forums as well, but I was hoping for some more specific instructions regarding my equipment. Thanks guys! i'll see ya around!

100_1093.jpg

100_1095.jpg

100_1096.jpg

100_1097.jpg

100_1100.jpg

I also have a very good looking Minolta flash that my dad and I are currently trying to clean. One of the batteries busted open in it over the years.

Thanks again!

That the end of the manual focus cameras era for Minolta. They moved to Auto Focus at that time. So you're lenses can not be used on anything past those cameras without some serious modifications.

I'm not sure what advise you are asking for. Specifically, how can we help?

Cheers!