Beginning photographer with a lot of questions.

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys. This is my first post on the forum, and I have some questions about... everything. I'm still a beginner, so bear with me through this maze of idiotic questions.

A little info first. I live in Southern Illinois, and there is nothing to photograph. Okay, maybe corn. And wheat. And beans. And the occasional tobacco farm.

You get the idea. It's really flat and relatively un-scenic. It there a photography term for un-scenic? I don't know. There are some interesting places; some parks, Garden of the Gods, but that's it. It's hard to photograph this area, especially someone like me. I've realized the past two months taking photos with my Iphone 5s that I really enjoy two types of photography: Symmetrical stuff and some landscape. Mostly symmetrical architecture. I really enjoy the work some professionals like Ravi Vora and Pei Ketron put into their work to find the beauty in man-made objects.

I went to Atlanta recently and it was a lovely place to photograph. Not only the architecture, but I got some decent photos of people and got a feel for landscape as well (the mountains around there are beautiful).

So, my first question: what should I do? I'm not exaggerating when I say there's simply not much stuff around here to take photos of. No gorgeous landscapes, no fancy buildings, no beautiful people. There is a lot of dirt, if you're a fan of dirt.

So, on to my next long story.