Blacksmith: First time shooting people

RitchieE24

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
This is my first time shooting portraits semi-seriously. I did a free shoot for my friend so he has some photos for his upcoming website. I figured I'd share some here.

1:
EK9kXMa.jpg

2:
Vig8oW6.jpg

3: Showing "personality"
t0xJPXQ.jpg

4: Still showing "personality"
TIOX2Oi.jpg

I'm happy with the results, so is he. I'm not close to claiming that these are close to perfect, but I like them. What do you guys think?

That you are both happy is all that matters.
Is his web site intended to attract customers, or just for fun?

I think the one light was way to low and gives him a sinister look.
The eyes in shadow and the gray under exposed sclera aren't flattering.
If nothing else I would edit his eyes in #2 to brighten them up some.
The eyes are an important element in a portrait.

That you are both happy is all that matters.
Is his web site intended to attract customers, or just for fun?

I think the one light was way to low and gives him a sinister look.
The eyes in shadow and the gray under exposed sclera aren't flattering.
If nothing else I would edit his eyes in #2 to brighten them up some.
The eyes are an important element in a portrait.

Thanks! Great call on the shadow on the eyes! I'll try to touch it up as best as I can. If not, I'll re-shoot. The look we are going for is a dark, almost "antique Gothic" theme across the board. A majority of the equipment used is from the late 1800's so we feel that we have a unique opportunity to make something of it.

However, I do agree that looking too sinister may not be the most attractive thing for people. I feel like I had the lighting too low to the ground than it should have been. I want shadows, but likely not where they ended up.

Cheers!