Blurred Photos?

Gimpded

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I recently got a Nikon D40 for X-mas and I was messing around with it, I had tried most of the modes and I am sticking with Auto for now but I was wondering: If I want to let the natural light of the room or outdoors do the work instead of flash how can I change the shutter speed so it still gets the picture but with no blur on auto?

http://s265.photobucket.com/albums/ii208/Gimpd/?action=view&current=Tara1.jpg (click the picture to make it bigger)

This was as close as I got to good with no flash, but as you can see it has lots of noise and is kind of blurry.

Sorry if my question is a little unclear.

Faster shutter speed, make sure your iso is set at 200 to eliminate the noise. Or use a tripod.

Problem is on auto you can't change the shutter speed, as far as I know. I am still new to this camera and photo taking in general.

You took that at iso3200, 1/25s, and f/5.6 which comes out to just under 5EV, which is really dim for an f/5.6 lens. That's why you were at iso3200 and still only getting a 1/25s shutter speed which will be blurry on most 55mm shots handheld. Like most things in photography, there's a lot of different ways to do the same thing.

If your cat stays very still, use a tripod and lower the iso down to 800 or so and you'll have a 1/6s exposure which will look a lot cleaner and also be blur free.