bokeh 'leading lines'

angelo_lightning

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi. I'm pretty new to photography.

I've been studying bokeh pretty in depth, as I'm mostly doing portaits, and bokeh is extremely important in portraits.

What I've noticed, is that in a lot of 'good' examples of bokeh, they basically have a foreground and then a bokeh background. Sure, the background is blurred out. But the sharp difference between the super in focus person or object, and the creamy blur of the background around it makes it look like a cutout to me. I really just flat out do not like this look at all.

What I LOVE is when there is an object, like a rail, or a hill, the side of a persons face, or even a street, that gradually recedes into the distance. Creating a gradient of bokeh. This is what I think looks good. I was wondering what the official take on this is. I hear about leading lines and diagonal lines all the time in composition, but never in reference to bokeh.

Other than in forensic photography there are no RULES like that. You can establish rules that you personally follow to create your personal style and others may or may not follow.
Do it - if you and others like it then it's right!!
There are techniques that are known to be well liked by more people and you can call them rules if you want.
I'd like to see an example of leading lines and bokah - don't know - it may be great???
Do some and share.

I've been studying bokeh pretty in depth, as I'm mostly doing portaits, and bokeh is extremely important in portraits.

What I've noticed, is that in a lot of 'good' examples of bokeh, they basically have a foreground and then a bokeh background. Sure, the background is blurred out. But the sharp difference between the super in focus person or object, and the creamy blur of the background around it makes it look like a cutout to me. I really just flat out do not like this look at all.