Canon 50 mm 1.4 or 1.8??

shelbysoho

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all,

I've been stuck in the process of buying a new lens. I have read countless reviews on the 50 mm 1.4 and the 1.8 and I know their slight differences, but I want to know what YOU all think I should end up spending my money on. 80 or 325 bucks?
I am a student who is tight on money, but also I factor in the quality.

What I really want to know is, is spending all that money really worth it in the end? What makes them so different other than greater bokeh and it is a bit faster?

What one should I go with?

Thanks!!

Get the 1.8, you won't be disappointed or hungry! Spring for a UV filter & hood while your at it. -Shea

Pretty much in my book it comes down to two things. Bokeh and build. Bokeh is nicer in the 1.4. The build is much nicer in the 1.4. No plastic mount and total plastic housing.

If you are looking for a lens to keep in the bag for occasional use I would go for the 1.8. If on the other hand you are looking for a work horse that will see a lot of use I would choose the 1.4.

I choose the 1.4 as I grew up on film and use primes constantly including the 50mm.

What makes them so different other than greater bokeh and it is a bit faster?

Usability, build quality, USM, DOF scale, resale value (like you would ever sell it)...

I like the 1.4. Never used the 1.8 before, everyone seems to love it though.

If you can afford it, I would get the 1.4 - if not, get the 1.8.

Last edited:
well, the majority of my work is concert photography; which means low light situations. i've been working my current cameras lens to the bone with its lowest 3.5 aperature. I am in need for a change..

well, the majority of my work is concert photography; which means low light situations. i've been working my current cameras lens to the bone with its lowest 3.5 aperature. I am in need for a change..