church wedding and stained glass photography

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,
I am a Professional Photographer who is fairly new to the business, I have been doing Wedding, family and Children's photography for about 3 years now, but have only done about 15 weddings and all but one were outdoors. I have a church wedding coming up and was wondering if anyone has any tips for me, as the last church wedding I photographed came out a bit dark and I had to work in photoshop for quite a while. I have permission to use flash, but unless I am close to the bride and groom, that will not help much. The church is a catholic church with a bell tower and stained glass windows all over. I will be using a Nikon d-70 ( 6.1 MP) and a Nikon d-80 (10.1 MP). The lenses I have are :
18-70mm f 3.5-4.5
30mm f 1.4
70-300mm f 4-5.6
and a 28-80mm wide angle f3.3-5.6
I am not sure which lenses to use with which camera and which to use with the tripod. Better camera with better lens for best pics with that one camera, or beter lens with lower MP camera to compensate. I have always just used my D-70 ( I am borowing the d-80 from my friend) with the 18-70 lens for wide shots, and the telephoto for ring exchange, first kiss, etc from back of center isle. But they have all been outdoors so low light has NEVER been an issue. any help or ideas is GREATLY appreciated!
Also, bride wants photos in front of stained glass windows. I have NO experience with that, does anyone have any tried and tested ideas for achieving correct exposure for couple and windows?
thanks so much!!!
Kelly
[email protected]

If this is anything like most Catholic churches I've been in, it's going to be fairly dark. When you said you have permission to use flash, is that from both the Bride/Groom and the church? Even if that's the case, I'd avoid it unless there's no other option, especially for the ceremony.