Copyright issues when doing freebies - who owns the rights to the photo?

ted_smith

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi

I have searched and read a few posts on this but none of the one's I found quite answer my query as it is quite unique (I think?).

I am currently an amateur photographer who works full time. However, these last few months I have photographed the pets of friends and family for nothing. More recently, I have 'put the word out' that I will photograph peoples' pets (as in the general public) at no charge (until further notice) in return for the experience. Obviously by doing it that way I increase my client base faster, learn from real life experience, and generate more varied shots for my portfolio. Then, when\if I decide to turn pro or semi-pro in the future my client base will be established. That's the theory anyway. In addition, it reduces the pressure while I learn.

However, the agreement I have come to is that I will not charge for my time or for the PRINTS I produce for the customer other than asking them to cover the costs of the printing itself. So they are not paying for the expertise or the rights to the photograph itself. It is therefore my understanding that all they are doing is buying a paper based print - not the copyright or overall ownership of the picture.

So for clarity,

a) I will be invited into the customers home.
b) I will use my equipment to photograph their pets.
c) I am in the UK
d) I will give them a print(s) of their favourite photos and ask merely for them to cover the printing costs.