Did you edit?!

_t_is_me_

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Am I the only one who is curious what kind of edits (if any) are done on photos? People always post what shutter speed and aperture, which ISO, flash or no flash, etc etc, but never if there was editing done or what kind. This is something I want to know! Maybe it doesn't matter, and I'm weird; Regardless, I'd still like to know!

I always tweak exposure and white balance. I will also straighten, crop, remove dust spots and distracting elements, adjust colors (saturation, tint, etc) and fix distortions if I think they are needed. If you shoot only jpegs, the camera is making some of those adjustments for you.

I'm just always curious if the image I'm seeing is "original" or has a few tweaks to pretty it up. As a new photographer, I find myself comparing my photos to other images that I see, but I don't know if it's even a fair comparison to begin with, because I don't yet edit my photos.

I'm just always curious if the image I'm seeing is "original" or has a few tweaks to pretty it up. As a new photographer, I find myself comparing my photos to other images that I see, but I don't know if it's even a fair comparison to begin with, because I don't yet edit my photos.

If you are new, concentrate on the basics: exposure, lighting, composition and perspective. The editing can come later.

This is an unedited straight out of the camera (SOOC) shot. The only processing was to scan it to JPEG. ;)

scan0001.jpg

Am I the only one who is curious what kind of edits (if any) are done on photos? People always post what shutter speed and aperture, which ISO, flash or no flash, etc etc, but never if there was editing done or what kind. This is something I want to know! Maybe it doesn't matter, and I'm weird; Regardless, I'd still like to know!
There have been threads on this topic. What constitutes "processing", or editing, etc.