Difference between 18-55mm and 18-200mm lenses?

batmura

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Please excuse me if this is a stupid question, but I'm a beginner who's had his first DSLR for only a month (D3100). I have the 18-55mm kit lens and have read quite a few posts both on this forum and places that carrying an 18-200mm lens does not necessarily ensure better picture quality. Since I'd like to carry only one camera and lens at this time, I'd like to know how an 18-200 differs from a kit lens except that it allows you to zoom in more. I know many people still favour the 50mm lenses to shoot even if they have the 200. If I shoot a pic at 55mm on the 200 will the pic be different from the one on the kit? If yes, I'd like to know the reason.

Also what is the reason for owning 55mm prime lenses? I assume those are the ones that do not let you zoom in or out at all except for changing f-numbers. Wouldn't it be better to have a 18-200 and just set to 55 and the desired f number?

Finally, can anyone tell me about the 17-55mm? How is it different from my kit?

Thanks a lot!

Obviously, the 18-200mm will provide a longer range... The 18-55mm will be at f3.5g at 18mm, f4.8g at 35mm and f5.6g at 55mm. The 18-200mm will be at f3.5g at 18mm, f4.2g at 35 mm and f4.8g at 50mm which means that the 18-200mm will be able to let more light pass through during an exposure than the 18-55mm at equivalent focal lenght.

Image Quality should be the same on a 18-55 and 18-200 (I have not tried any of those). If you like to travel with only "one" lens, the 18-200 would be more appropriate...

The 17-55mm f2.8g will remain at f2.8g (fix aperture) from 17mm to 55mm. This is what they call a "fast" lens.

Last edited:
10x+ zoom range, 18-200+ mm zoom lens are known as a super zoom lens.