dSLR suggestions

priya91

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey, So recently I received a Canon SLR, but I have been looking into buying a Digital SLR. My budget is anything under $1000. I absolutely have no idea what to buy as I am a photography novice. I would love some suggestions. Most people have recommended Nikon or Cannon. Suggestions on particular models would be awesome. Thank you :)

Canon 550d should be around your budget, or maybe a 50d. Both great cameras. 550d is only 'entry level' but trumps the 50d on most most counts, incl HD video. I'm a canon junkie BTW - I have nothing against nikon and you should look into their stuff too (D90), but I only know about canon gear. Canon have an awesome lineup of lenses and accessories.

You can get a Nikon D90 new with kit lens for $1,000.

If you care about video recording capabilities, you may favor a Canon. The 550D that fokker speaks of might be called a Rebel T2i in Canada, at least that's what it's marketed as south of your Canadian border. They sell for $900 with the kit lens.

If you don't care about video so much I'd recommend you get the Nikon. The D90 also has an internal focusing motor (correct me if I'm wrong, Nikon owners) so you'll be able to auto focus the cheap Nikon 50mm 1.8 and other motorless lenses.

The D90 also has an internal focusing motor (correct me if I'm wrong, Nikon owners) so you'll be able to auto focus the cheap Nikon 50mm 1.8 and other motorless lenses.

You're right.

But might I also suggest the Pentax K-x or K-7 for two reasons.

1) I'm plugging Pentax because they're the "underdog" and yet they produce top quality products that are hard to beat for the features vs. price comparison.