Entry Level Lens

g2k556

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been using a casio p&s camera for a while now and i've finally got the money to upgrade to a dslr. I've done a bit of research and settled on a rebel xt. Now i've been try to find a solid lens, but there are so many to choose from and so many different types. I will be doing photography from the nature side of things. i'm interested in both close up and far away. I'd also like to do some wild life photography too. I'm pretty new to the photography world, so i haven't yet found what i like to photograph the most yet, so i'm looking for a lens that has more of a broad range of function to experience more. The xt will cost me about $390 and i don't want the overall price to go much higher than $800. So if you guys could give me maybe 2 or 3 different lens too look at in my price range, i will go and read some more reviews on them. Any input will be much appreciated. Thanks, Gavin.

I would look at the Tamrom 70-300 Di LD for your long zoom. It is inexpensive, and other than some purple fringing in high contrast scenes, it is a damn good lens for the money. I love mine, and it also does psuedo macro , and now I believe you can pick one up for about $160 online. The Sigma 17-70 is a really popular lens too, and is in the $400 range, maybe a bit cheaper. you would be covered from 17-300 MM with those two lenses.

sigma : http://www.adorama.com/SG1770EOS.html

tamron : http://www.adorama.com/TM70300DEOS.html

here are a few "macro" and regular shots from my Tamron 70-300

2465313349_8d5b803a88_o.jpg

2465324247_76fb2ccbf8_o.jpg

2523141444_c93c40c872_o.jpg

2523135768_60e1d12219_o.jpg

I don't disagree or anything but I have a question Stratman. Why are sharpened and processed images useful for showing off or demonstrating a lens?