Filters question {Fujifilm s5500}

Big Stu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So, my mother-in-law, on the advice of a friend, purchased a 28 piece filter set from ebay for my s5500, only costing me £65 so for starters, by no way am i accepting any outstanding quality, just "adequate" as a friend put it to me.

Problem being, i know nothing about filters and what they can achieve, sine i'm very new to doing "proper" digital photography. The filters included are...

5 image filter
3 image filter
8 flair star filter
4 flair star filter
Soft filter
Sand filter
+1 close up
+2 close up
+4 close up
+10 close up
Diffuse filter
Duto diffuser filter
Soften diffuser filter
Special soften diffuser
Red filter
Orange filter
Yellow filter
Green filter
Sky blue filter
Rainbow filter
Sepia filter
Linear polarize filter
Florescent filter
Safety filter
Two field filter
ND filter
Double exposer filter
Veri cross filter

cam.JPG

What i was hoping...is whether someone could possibly take the time to list the different functions/possibilities each lense will allow me?

Apologies to those who've let off the biggest groans imagineable when they saw my question!

I don't know the conversion to US dollars but it sounds like a bargian. You can google each one and find out what they do. But I bet in the long run you will only use a few.........

Yeah i think you're right, i can't imagine finding a use for each and every one, but hopefully for an utter beginner like me, they'll do the job just for now!

And it works out at $120 :)

One really good filter can cost close to that alone. Depending one the quality. Try this guys web site. He is an amazing photographer and explains what filters he uses and why. The main to get are polorizers, I almost never take mine off. Even with night shots....
http://www.garryblack.com/filters.htm

Excellent stuff, just the sort of thing i've been looking for!

Thank you!

cosmonaut said:
[...] polorizers, I almost never take mine off. Even with night shots....