First Time Posting

tallbell

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been lurking around here for a very long time, I have been doing photography in a studio for the past 3 years. I finally won a Nikon from a maternity shot that I did with the company. After getting a D80, I fell in love. The list of things I want is so very long, like studio lights and background. I work with what I have and here are some shots that are recent.

PS I have gotten very inspired from this site and love several peoples work. I usually only search in this topic. Elsaspet, JimmyJaceyMom, NJMAN, Jemmy, woodsac, zendianah, I always look forward to your post.
A photo shoot with a four day old was very complicated. I knew from the begining that they liked soft focus.
168977025-M.jpg

168978533-M.jpg

168983129-M.jpg

They wanted me back for one month shots- I must be doing something right ?
DSC_0148.jpg

DSC_0168.jpg

DSC_0193.jpg

Ok, I am ready, let me have a healthy serving of C & C please.

I think you have some very beautiful shots!! I would only say that you need more light. Other then that I am loving these baby shots!

First of all, welcome to the forum!

I have some crits for you on these. The focus on the baby's hand is excellent in #2, but the hard shadow from the flash kind of ruins the mood. #3 needs a little work on the white balance, as the skin tone is a bit yellow. As for the rest of them, the lighting is rather flat. I would work more on more subtle lighting techniques if you are doing infant portraits.

On the positive side, the baby's expression is priceless in #4, nice capture! And you have a good eye for composition. Keep working at it, and keep posting. :)

NJ

You can truly take NJman's advice first.

You are off to a good start! The one glaring thing I see is the white balance. You need a tad more blue, or to desat the red a bit.
Don't be afraid of really grainy black and white. Number two is perfect for this treatment.