Focal Length Regarding Zoom, Please Help!

aromero

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Well I am just starting out in photography, and I'm looking to get the Nikon D40 with the 28-80 mm lens. Now I know this is probably a stupid question, but what kind of zoom will i get with a lens like that, I'm going to mostly be doing surf photography, so zoom and being tight on the subject is key. There is also a lens option of getting a 28-200mm lens. Would this be better? Please help out

Well, I don't know much about surfing, but I have a slight feeling that even a 200mm won't get you quite what you are looking for. You may want to invest in a X2 Teleconvertor with the 28-200 (I don't know my Nikkor lenses, but I suspect you won't get the quality out of this lens as you are wanting. I don't know how much you are planning on spending, but a wonderful lens is the 80-200mm VR) The 28-80mm is more for portraiture :) There is an example somehwere on here with the images with various focal lengths, so hopefully someone will dig that up for you.

The 28-200 would be too slow with a converter. I dont' know if it would even focus because with a 2x converter and the 28-200, you'd be having a 400mm f/8. Yuck.

I would use no less than my 80-200 with 2x converter or the 80-400 VR.

the 28-80 wouldn't give you NEAR the reach you need.

For the kind of money you are gonna spend on a 28-200 you might just be better getting the 28-80 and a decent 70-300 lens. There has been alot of discussion here about the 28-200 and the consensus usually comes down to stay away from that (28-200) kind of range in a lens. If you are trying to shoot action even surfing in bright sunlight you still need a fairly fast lens the 70-300 4-5.6 ED at around $320 is probably a good place to start unless you can afford the 70-200 2.8 Vr (around $1500).

Welcome to the forum.