Free photos

Scroller

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
The whole reason that I invested in my camera t3i was because I have been in a position where I would love to have family pics done but when you don't have two nickels to rub together you cant pay for them. So I know there are people out there (friends and family) who don't have money but would love to have their pics taken. So my question is this I always hear people say I wouldn't do that...WHY? I inform my friend or family that I am a beginner and I don't charge because this is how I get my practice, they are ok with it plus they get a bunch of pics. So again whats the problem? Thanks

I won't do pro bono publico work because of the two possible outcomes:

1. Everyone likes it, so they will expect me to do the same for them.
2. It's terrible, and everyone will label me as a rotten photographer.

I look at and consider if the person or event or whatever would, or could, pay for photos. If they would then I don't do it. I don't want to take work from someone that needs it to put food on the table. If a charitable organization needs photos and can't pay someone then I'll do that. If someone has tried and can't get a working pro to do the job then I'll usually do it if I can.
I understand folks that will and folks that won't do pro-bono work but I'm old and retired so can do it my way....

The whole reason that I invested in my camera t3i was because I have been in a position where I would love to have family pics done but when you don't have two nickels to rub together you cant pay for them. So I know there are people out there (friends and family) who don't have money but would love to have their pics taken. So my question is this I always hear people say I wouldn't do that...WHY? I inform my friend or family that I am a beginner and I don't charge because this is how I get my practice, they are ok with it plus they get a bunch of pics. So again whats the problem? Thanks