Getting a D90 but TORN about lenses :( help!

ElianaRampage

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone!! I was hoping I could perhaps get some guidance because I've been agonizing over this dilemma for what feels like an eternity.

I've been using a D40 for quite a while- I couldn't afford anything more expensive at the time, and I've been using it for a few years. Recently, I've decided to make the jump to a D90- I found a great deal and I'm super excited to pick it up when I get home from college.

However, I've been completely torn about which lens to get. I've been looking at all of them- 18-55, 18-105, 18-200, 55-200, 70-200, 70-300...as an extremely spontaneous person who literally takes pictures of EVERYTHING, the 18-200 was very tempting- as the argument goes, you don't need to switch lenses. However, after researching the lens, I've heard that people don't think it's as sharp as other lenses, which leaves me really concerned- I'm a stickler for detail, and I'm not sure I'd be willing to deal with distortion or lack of sharpness. On the other hand, I love the idea of not having to switch lenses (I find it extremely troublesome!)...As a person who takes wildlife, landscape, urban, macro, abstract AND portrait shots, I'm pretty torn about this entire situation- not to mention I'm not exactly well-endowed financially...I turn to my fellow photographers for advice. Should I get the 18-200, or should I just suck it up and get multiple lenses?

Also, should I stick to Nikon lenses or should I experiment with Sigma, Tamron and the like?

p.s budget wise: I'm thinking I probably can spend up to 700 dollars on lenses, maybe 1000 if I push it.

Thank you so much for your help, you're guiding an extremely troubled individual...I need all the help I can get!!! :)

Last edited: