Has photography changed you?

keith204

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I started getting into people portraits a couple of months ago, and in particular - that has dramatically changed the way I communicate and interact with others.

On a personal level, I can interact with the kids at family gatherings so much better. Working with kids in my little studio in the past couple months has taught me to relax and just hang out, try to make an instant friend.

On a business level, it has taught me how to communicate better with clients. I'm a software developer, and when representing my company to a multi-billion-dollar insurance carrier, who has a multi-million-dollar contract with us, the pressure is on. Photography has taught me to think fast, know my stuff, and don't ever let the clients think I don't know what I'm doing.

On a physical level, I lost 40 lbs between July and September, and have kept it off since then, and even lost a little more. My encouragement is from the town's main photographer - I like his work, and his style - he always looks professional. So I stopped all the fast food crap I ate, actually paid attention to nutrition tables and started eating vegetables. I can move around a heck of a lot better than I could before, which is plenty of reason to ban any place that can sell a cheeseburger for a dollar.

Photography's been good to me, and that's why I try to keep it up. Has photography influenced your lifestyle/personality?

Photography makes me happy overall...:lol:

Well... in my field, I am in a constant state of one high-stress situation after another. People always want answers from me and they want them NOW. Photography is a less physical way that I can de-stress compared to my martial arts.

I call photography "my moment to regain balance and restore some modicum of sanity"... lol.

It doesn't frustrate me too much, and makes me a lot happier on many levels.