Hello and Help please!?

Smeghead

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I'm new to this forum and fairly new to photography as well. My name is Peter and I am a filmmaker from Seattle, WA. I just got into photography as a hobby this summer after my uncle gave me an old Minolta XG-1. I'm posting this because I have been experiencing a problem after I get my photos back from being processed. On a number of pictures there seems to be a strange glare down the left side of the picture.

here is an example.(sorry it's so big)
http://ripway.com/members/getfile.asp?file=\55130002%2Ejpg

Can anyone tell me what may cause this? Is it the type of film, where I'm pointing the camera, the camera itself, a filter I'm using?

thanks in advance.:wink:

I'm a newbie too, but was interested in your photo, however the link you provide takes me to a log in page. Look for a link directly to your photo on the site and use that link.

hope this helps,
Terri

A light leak with film would cause massive overexposure and the processed print would be whiteout, without an image present I cant see any overexposure here, the glare on the water is caused by underexposure as the majority of the scene is dark, you need to compensate for the brightness of the scene by overexposing 1 to 2 stops. H

Did this happen with more than 1 roll? do you have other examples?

Heya Smeghead (or Peter! :D) and welcome to ThePhotoForum.
Sorry, I had to download your photo onto my computer to have Photoshop open it at only 25% of its size, else I would never have been able to view it properly.