HELP- 1st Wedding.. Any tips?

LeighUSC

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So my Uncle has asked me to photograph his SMALL wedding in the middle of October... I am a photography student and have promised myself not to do wedding but how can you say no to family? :confused: I have a Canon Rebel XTI with a kit 18-55mm lens and a Quantaray 70-300 mm lens. The wedding is at 6:30pm, on a golf course... a good external flash?

Any tips?
Thank you! :D

Last edited:
Wow, sounds like you are in a bit of a bind. Light will be your major issue with a fall wedding at that time of day. You will obviously need some extra lighting. I would get yourself a nice speedlight, maybe two, and start experimenting NOW! Play around with some diffusion, and bouncing of light. Also, read as much as you can about off-camera lighting. Try this for starters: http://strobist.blogspot.com/

Wow. That is extremely scary. I would suggest bringing a helper and a reflector. Chances are you're going to encounter some harsh shadowing since you are in southern California. I'm in San Diego it is tough hiding from the sun. A friend of mine often carries around a white reflector and has a helper point a remote flash through the reflector at the subject to kill shadowing. He does a pretty good job at it. Good luck with the wedding. I would love to see some of your shots. Don't forget to show and tell on TPF when your done PP :)

ROFL, Double H and I were thinking the same thing, same time LoL.

Chances are you're going to encounter some harsh shadowing since you are in southern California.

Opps, the USC in my name is for the University of South Carolina...Sorry.

So guys, going to see if I can get an external flash ASAP and play around with it...

Last edited:
Opps, the USC in my name is for the University of South Carolina...Sorry.quote]

LoL, sorry Leigh. When I saw the USC all I could think of was trojan football helmets. My bad.