HELP! My dSLR shutter doesn't work sometime

EileenHui

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a beginner on dSLR as well as photography. I've gotten my first dSLR for 1.5 months. It's a Nikon D90.

Sometimes after I focused and try to release the shutter, it just didn't work, and I would hear some sounds in my camera. At the beginning I thought it might because I did not have much skill, that was why it did not work. But the same problems just keep happening every once a while. I checked the web and found some people were having the same problem.

I'm wondering if there are any chances that the shutter would behave like that?

I'm not sure what should I do now, should I send it back to Nikon?

I'm just throwing this out there:

If the camera can't find its focus, the shutter won't work. The noises could be the camera still trying to find a focal point? I know my D40 was made a fair amount of noise when trying to focus.

Again, this is a simple response, but may be the case.

Good Luck,
~Tom

EDIT: Easy test, flick the focus control to Manual on the lens and then see if the shutter works. It should always allow you to press the shutter even if the image is drastically out of focus. If it consistently works then you know you just weren't waiting for the focus to lock.

I agree it's likely what Tom is talking about, the camera hasn't achieved focus and is set so it won't release the shutter in that condition.

Your question also indicates you are not yet familiar with the information in your camera users manual.

Welcome to the world of Digital SLR cameras. They are a bit more complex than many people realize.

Your D90 has 3 focus modes AF-A, AF-S (single focus) and AF-C (continuous focus). (See pages 54-60 of your D90 users manual.)

In AF-A the camera automatically selects one of the other 2 focus modes, depending if the subject is moving or not. The shutter will not release if focus has not beeen achieved.