Help with lens choice on Sony A100

demonsmasher

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I want to get a descent zoom lens. Right now I want to stay cheap as possible. I'm not a pro so starting out with basic stuff is ok with mt right now while I grow in experience. Here are some lenses I am looking at. which would you go with or what order would you go in? I am wanting to stay around the $150 range or cheaper. But I don't want to cheap and get a really crappy lens.

I have a A100 here are the lens choices I am looking at with price. What would you go with.

1. Cosina AF 28-300mm f/4-6.3 MC Wide-Telephoto Lens $108.49

SIGMA 70-210mm F4-5.6 UC-II $99.99

3.Sony DT 18-200mm f3.5-6.3 $103

Sigma 55-200mm DC$139.00

Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 zoom lens $150 ish

First off, you don't say what zoom range you're interested in, and you list covers quite a range, but from what I see, I'll guess normal to medium tele. That aside, you say you're not a pro, and you want cheap, but not crappy. Sorry, but glass doesn't work that way. Unless you score the bargain of a lifetime at a garage sale where someone doesn't know what they're selling, or buy one in a back alley that fell off a truck, cheap glass is almost always going to be crap. There are a few exceptions, but none that I'm aware of in the zoom world.

Remember, the lens is what makes the image; the camera is just a recording medium. Good glass on a cheap camera beats cheap glass on a good camera, EVERY TIME! You've got a huge world of Minolta lenses open to you, so what I'd suggest is head down to your local used store, and see what you can find in a second hand lens in the range you're interested in.

would I want good glass oh yea, but right now money is a concern. What I have listed all get some to less revirews for those who have used these. I can take pretty good photos with my kit lens just want some more zoom to it. As far as what zoom range I am looking at. Well read the post. I have the zoom ranges there.