How do you remember the relationship with aperture, iso, and shutter speed

Vic Vinegar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I use a Canon 40D with a 50mm lens and I use AV (aperture priority). Since I'm still learning the relationship between shutter speed, aperture, and ISO in terms of the amount of light captured, I take a picture with many different settings and then choose the best one and delete the rest. It's hard to remember what ISO is best with what aperture and shutter speed for any given brightness. So the only solution I have is to take like 20 pictures of the same thing with different settings. Is there a way to record the settings used in the picture? By the time I put them on my PC I don't know which exact ISO or aperture I used for what.

edit: I forgot to add that the shutter speed is picked automatically and what I am doing is picking different apertures and ISOs. But when I move on to manual I'd like to be able to do it properly.

The data is saved as part of the image file. Camera model, shutter speed, aperture, ISO, time & date and a bunch of other information is automatically saved for you. You just need the right software to read it. Check what came with the camera.... usually it will at least give you that much information.

If you're using Av mode, why the need to take 20 shots?

............edit: I forgot to add that the shutter speed is picked automatically and what I am doing is picking different apertures and ISOs. But when I move on to manual I'd like to be able to do it properly.

So if the exposures are identical when in Av mode but just a different shutter/aperture combination, why the need to take 20?

As for shooting in Manual mode, it's a matter of choosing two of the three variables (ISO, shutter & aperture) that fit your needs, then accepting the third one that's needed to create the 'correct' exposure.