How do you tell if what looks black on the screen is black?

gl600

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was working on a photo a little while back and I was trying to get the outer edges of the photo to be pure black. After working for about 5-10 minutes I stood up from my computer and as the angel of view changed from a perpendicular viewpoint to what ended up being about a 45 degree angle the shades of black switched and I noticed that some of the areas were not pure black. (In case you are wondering I have a Samsung SyncMaster 245bw 24inch).
How do you make sure that the blacks, and whites for that matter, are truly black/white?
I don't want to get up every time. The only other way that I can think of is to use the eyedropper and click around the area's and see what comes up.
Does anyone else have this issue and if so how do you deal with it?
Thanks!

Buy a very expensive monitor, calibrate it very carefully and oh, board up all your windows and paint your walls a neutral gray. Then hope the viewer has something equal to view it on.

I'm sorry to sound like such a smart a** but as every monitor is different plus every printer is different so much of the final output is dependent on factors that are often out of your control. A lot of it does depend on how much money you can put into it. It seems also that 90% of the cost goes to achieving the last 10% if the quality. I think I know the monitor you have and if I'm correct it's not bad. So unless you want to spend a lot more, a little won't really do anything, changing your angle of view may be the best answer.

At shootsmarter.com they rate some different monitors, you might find it interesting.

Last edited:
board up all your windows and paint your walls a neutral gray.
Or take it a step further and use ISO 12646 (Viewing Conditions -- for Graphic Technology and Photography) to set up your viewing/working area. ;)