I could use some insight.

Skekses

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
A friend recommended these boards to me because I am considering getting certified in Photography. I already have a Bachelor's of Fine Art in Illustration and Graphic Design. I'm currently a graphic designer at a small advertising firm, and finding I'm not satisfied.

I recently started thinking about going back to school to try photography, but I honestly don't think I have it in me to go back for another 4 years. I'm considering trying to get certified after doing some experimentation to see if I like it first.

Would just getting certified allow me to get a decent job in the field? Any input would be great considering you guys have the passion for it. :sillysmi:

if your good, you dont need to be certified to get a job.. at least in canada.. I mean, I'm not certified, and I've actually never taken a course... I'm self taught, and taught by all the fine people on this forum.. but I do PLENTY of work in photography.. (studio work) I mean, having the papers would probably give you a one up, but nothing beats experience

if your good, you dont need to be certified to get a job.. at least in canada.. I mean, I'm not certified, and I've actually never taken a course... I'm self taught, and taught by all the fine people on this forum.. but I do PLENTY of work in photography.. (studio work) I mean, having the papers would probably give you a one up, but nothing beats experience

Heh. I guess I'm not sure if I'm even that good yet. I'm not very good at "self-teaching". I'm better when I'm taught by someone else. I don't even know where to begin! What do you guys suggest?

Also, like illustration, is photography mostly a freelance job?