I need some advice for a new lens

bellacat

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.wildroseportraitphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a 40D and have been using mostly my 50mm f/1.8 lens for my shoots. I am not 100% happy with it but its far better then what i was using.

I have about 1200 to spent and would consider holding off a bit to raise that to about 1500. I am a portrait photographer for mostly children and would love some advice.

Are you into prime lenses or zooms? What about your curent lenses are you not happy with? Are you looking to upgrade IQ, zoom or speed? The 50 f/1.8 is chincy but good. With that budget, you could upgrade to the 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8, 135 f/2L or better. All are great portrait lenses. For kids, unless they are sitting still (yeah right) I prefer to use a zoom. Since working distance is at a premium. I prefer the EF 70-200 /2.8L IS becaues it suits my shooting style. I give them a bit more room so they act more natural. You can either go with the IS or non-IS but the f/2.8 is great to have. Your list of current lenses covers the range, but not the speed and you will be upgrading to quality glass also. The EF 24-70 f/2.8L is also another great choice. I am debating whether to upgrade from my 24-105 f/4L IS.

Definetly depends on what you want, but i would recomend a 70-200, either f/4, f/2.8 and with or without IS