I need some advice...

Allsmiles7282

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So here is the deal. In the past week I have search high and low for a studio here in Charleston (and the surrounding areas) to get involved with and there are zero. Everyone here seems to be in business for themselves and does their own thing. (Before I moved I was part of a studio) So my husband and I wrestled with what I should do. My degree is in Organic Chemistry and I will literally shoot myself if I had to do anything remotely related to it. So...I've decided (with my husband's support) to go into business myself. My husband makes enough that I don't really have to work, so I have the time, and I even have some savings that I've been saving for something like this. So I'm upgrading my equipment and going for it!

So here is where the advice part comes in... I have always been a Nikon shooter. I have owned three nikons and have five or six nikkor lenses. However, a few photographer friends of mine have been getting some excellent work out of Canons. Then there is the fact that I think the Canon 5D is the only camera that is "full format." So I don't know whether I should upgrade to a Nikon D200 or go with the Canon 5D? Any advice would me much welcomed!

a few photographer friends of mine have been getting some excellent work out of Canons
There are plenty of photographers getting excellent results with Nikon's as well. I wouldn't recommend jumping ship, especially since you have a collection of lenses. (and this is comming from a Canon shooter)

The Canon 5D does have a 'full frame' sensor...meaning that the sensor is the same size as 35mm film. Canon also has the 1Ds mkII (and posibly other) full frame DSLR. Rumor has it that Nikon will eventually have it's own full frame sensor.