I think I bought the wrong camera

Jim C.

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been using SLR's and DSLR's for many years and enjoy doing walk around photography. But age and ailments have taken their toll and I need a cane to remain upright. I find that carrying around a DSLR is too cumbersome. I decided to purchase a compact camera with a zoom lens. Price was a major concern as was size. Without enough research I purchased a Canon ELPH 360, because of the zoon length and the WIFI compatibility. I think I made a mistake, and I knew the shortcomings going in. First, I miss a view finder, second, the lens is too slow and is variable and real slow fully zoomed and last I like to shoot aperture priority and with this camera I have no control. Ok so the camera takes brilliant photos I have ISO set on auto and even at night zoomed out there is no noise. As an old guy with some experience, I think a camera should look like a camera and feel like a camera. This Canon misses the mark in my opinion. I purchased this camera directly from Canon online, I bought a 32 gb hs card and it came with a battery charger for a bit over $200. bucks. I now think I want a true range finder camera with manual controls and a zoom ring. So that's my rant about a perfectly good and nice camera. Question is have any of you made a mistake like this? Did you get past it and learn to love the camera?

can't say i've ever bought the wrong camera, but i have been disappointed in a few lenses. i hate any camera that makes me use menus to control the image.