Information for a newbie?

ThePerfectShot

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,​

I'm Merrit and I guess you could call me a real beginner. I've been looking into getting a new camera for the past few years. I have pretty much settled on the Canon XTi and a few lenses to go with.​

I don't get the type of shots I want with a compact camera. I'm using a Sony Cybershot and a Kodak EasyShare right now. I have to admit I am disappointed with the results. I can't get action shots; which is a huge part of why I am getting a SLR.​

I'm studying for my GED and hope to take a few Photography college courses in the near future. So I need a real upgrade from what I'm using right now. I'm not looking for anything super pro and I can't spend XXXX amounts of money right now. Once I'm in the position and know for a fact this will be my profession I will make a huge upgrade.​

The lenses I am looking at are the 50mm f/1.8, filters, and eventually the 100-300mm f/4.5-5.6, but I would really like to get a fisheye too. Just to have it on hand would be really nice, there is something about the effect I really like. My problem is the more and more I look; the more I get confused.​

Are there any recommendations you can give for a newbie? Any information on books, lenses, cameras would be wonderful.​

Here are a few shots I've gotten; nothing super special, but as good as you're going to get with a simple compact.​

Taken with Sony CyberShot: These are all dogs I work with at adoptions.
DSC07027.jpg

DSC06244.jpg

DSC07188.jpg

DSC07191.jpg

Taken with the Kodak:
106.jpg

Thank you for taking a look, I really do appreciate it!
Merrit​

What do you mean by "action shots"? Sports, wildlife or what? Do you want high framerates?