Is there any experienced sports shooters out there willing to help me?

redtippmann

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everybody!
Well I have been shooting for a couple of years and I'm really attracted to sports photography. Right now I shoot for my schools newspaper and yearbook. I really enjoy going to events but there never seems to be enough light. I was thinking of buying a SB-600 but I don't know if that would be powerful enough. So should i think of getting the SB-800?

Also, I've been reading some tips on how to eventually become a sports photographer. I watched some videos online and they all said its a good idea to get a mentor. Well I looked at our towns newspaper photographer and he doesn't really seem to know too much or that he would be willing to help. ( He just walks around with a 18-200 and a flash, and it doesn't seem like he would take the time to help a kid like me) So I was wondering if anyone here would care to help me develop my skills on a more personal level.

I also did try the mentoring list here on TPF but they all wanted me to shoot studio stuff.

So any help would be great, Thanks!

o_O ooh the mentor list still works :)
and someone tried it too!! :)

I'm afriad I am not sports photographer to help - though I would say that since you already have an f2.8 capable lens in the 70-200mm range (which I assume is your dominant sports lens) then if the lighting is still not enough for your needs then a flash would be the next logical setup.