Is this noise normal?

BrittN

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
This may be a silly question but I need other opinions besides Nikon's. I have a D3100 and I started noticing really bad noise in my photos. Sent pics into Nikon. They agreed it needed to be sent in. Well here we are 5 months later, just sent it in for the 3rd time and has not been fixed yet. The last time I spoke with a rep they made it sound like they were not to concerned about the noise. That it looked pretty normal. I didn't agree so took some more photos and they had me send it in. I'm pretty new to the photography world. About a year in so I don't feel like I know enough about noisy images. Maybe it is normal? I don't know but I'm at my wits end with it and Nikon.Any advice or opinions would be great. This is just an example pic.

Attachments

• DSC_0119_edited-3.jpg
    DSC_0119_edited-3.jpg
    91.5 KB · Views: 130
Doesn't look like the image made it; along with reposting the image, please ensure that full EXIF data is posted as well.

Every digital image has some amount of image noise.
I do not see any excessive noise in the photo of the little girl you posted.
I do see a photo that has under exposure issues on the left half of the photo from less than quality light and quite possibly use of an inappropriate camera light metering mode for the shot.

Under exposure makes image noise more visible, especially in the darker parts of a photo.
Using a high ISO setting increases how much image noise a photo will have.

Digital Camera Image Noise: Concept and Types
Real World Camera Raw: Exposure and Linear Capture | Exposure and Linear Capture | Peachpit
Understanding Camera Metering and Exposure

I agree with the above post, in every single word.

The image shows up for me. I'm not sure what else to do to make it work. Will upload another. Setting f/13..1/25s..ISO 400..With my 55-200mm

Attachments

• DSC_0119_edited-3.jpg
    DSC_0119_edited-3.jpg
    91.5 KB · Views: 106