just bought Nikon D90 (HELP purchasing - lens & other recommendation??)

dezignx

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey all,

I just finally purchased my first DSLR camera (Nikon D90 - body only).....I am new to all of this as I stated a while back, but I need some help with selecting the type of lens to purchase??
The type of photography I am interested in is like portraits (children, senior pics, families, models, music artists)

What lens do you all recommend and besides the lens & camera, will there be anything else I need to purchase to start up?

Thanks

You'll want to look into lighting for portraits.

You can go simple and get something like a 50mm 1.8 lens for dirt cheap. Another popular portrait lens is Nikons 70-200 f/2.8 but at $1800 I think it would be overkill for your needs.

Hmm, I would choose the Nikon AF 24-85mm.
Nice focal range for Portraits.

I use a Minolta AF 28-135mm.

35mm f/2 Nikkor
50mm f/1.4 Sigma
85mm f/1.4 Nikkor
105mm f/2.8 Nikkor
24-70mm f/2.8 Nikkor

I would keep your kit lens for general walk around and for portraits get the following if you are on a budget.

85mm f1.8 or Tamron 90mm f2.8 The 85 would be better for straight portraits, but the Tamron 90mm is just as sharp (maybe sharper depending on who you ask), but is slower to focus and obviously not as fast.

If you are doing actual portraits instead of shooting just portrait shots of family and such, then I'd stay away from the shorter lenses like the 35....just don't get much background blur with those....too much DOF unless you are really close to your subject. 50m f1.8 is a good one to have too.

I would keep your kit lens for general walk around and for portraits get the following if you are on a budget.

85mm f1.8 or Tamron 90mm f2.8 The 85 would be better for straight portraits, but the Tamron 90mm is just as sharp (maybe sharper depending on who you ask), but is slower to focus and obviously not as fast.