Kiddos

Crazydad

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Some shots of the kids. Let me know what you think (I can take it).

2690757807_cc0d00b1fe_b.jpg

2690756173_6f5a560290_b.jpg

2691566908_ac1b3e0731_b.jpg

Love #3 the best. don't know if your going for background but unless you need the background maybe crop ?? otherwise I'm a noob and have very little idea of comp and lighting. I think they are very good (minus to much background imo) :)

First one - to be as frank as possible, having a cute little girl with rather large people's booties right behind her is not desirable.

Second - no comment, it came out quite well. Sky could go a touch darker but whatever. Nice photo.

Third - I would definitely crop off of the top, at the risk of changing the composition. It's just white blowout in between the two handrails. Also go ahead and take the bit of slide on the right out of there, too.

One of the single most difficult disciplines in "people" photography; the candid portrait. Technically, the images are all fine, good exposure, no extremes of light/shadow, or WB concerns, but as has been mentioned, they all have compositional issues. One of the things that separates a candid portrait from a snapshot is the way in which deals with composition.

#1 Looks like it could have been improved my aiming to camera right a little more, and perhaps from a slightly higher vantage point, shooting down onto the subject. This would probably have eliminated the "distractions" previously mentioned.

#2 I believe this one should have been shot from a wider perspective to situate the viewer better. As it sits, there's more action going on in the background, unrelated to the main subject than there is in the foreground. A broader perspective with a shallower DoF (to more effectively isolate the main subject and ideally one or two of his fellow players) would have helped.