Lens + Camera Upgrade Plan - Smart or Dumb?

NorthbyNorthwest

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been shooting DSLR for 6 months, and I am focusing on Portraits. So far I have offered free sessions for families and a few seniors at my church and ended up shooting 7 different shoots in the month of November. I have realized already that I have a passion for portrait photography and plan to continue as a hobbyest and maybe eventual professional. I have gotten great feedback from everyone I have shot so far. I currently own a T2i and the 50mm 1.8 is my only lens and I love the length on a Crop Sensor (80ish).

I have already ran into some limitations of the camera body and lens. Primarily, I could use more focus points as I tend to be very selective if possible (mostly with seniors rather than kiddos). The 1.8 is great for the price but the pentagonal "bokeh" is distracting and feels cheap to me. So there is the background info. I shoot natural light (though I am picking up a flash+diffusers today) and could use better ISO performance. ISO 800 on the T2i is so noisy I reserve it for black and white with grain as an artistic choice only.

Anyway, people always say glass first. I hate buying things twice and I prefer the wallet to hurt once rather than twice. Since I love primes, my plan was to pick up the 50mm 1.2L and continue to shoot with my T2i while I continue to work on my skills at (near) to the classic portrait length. Then upgrade to the 5Dmkii or iii body. At that point I would have a 50mm option with the 5D body and 80ish on the backup T2i body. Then get the 85mm L to get back to that classic portrait length on full frame. I don't foresee needing more than these two lenses for my style and preferences down the line. Does this seem smart or dumb? Obviously money is tight and this will probably take two years. Thanks.
-Jake